The Myth Makers – Story #020

DW20

Jael’s Judgment:

Well, the Doctor confirmed it. The Trojan war is not just a legend.

I am a little confused about the presence if the Cyclops. Maybe my limited knowledge of Greek mythology is causing this confusion, but I thought that Cyclops were giant and only had one eye. To me it sounded like this one just had (an eye patch over) one eye. And was one of the Cyclops the servant of Odysseus? Whatever. I do not want to get pedantic and anyway, like I said, my knowledge of Greek mythology  is limited and based on literature I read around a decade ago. Maybe it would be worth revisiting those stories, they still sound interesting…

“I do not fear the thunder, you superstitious, dark-dodging decadent!”

This story was really hurt by the lack of video. It was difficult to keep track of where everyone from the TARDIS group was and who they were with.

  • Story Grade: C-

 

Tony’s Take:

First off, let it be known that when Jael sent over her review for me to post (yep, I am the one running the blog, she just monitors the hit count) she named it “The Myth Busters”.  I am guessing that it was a reference to the TV show, but more importantly, the way that this story shattered the myth and lore of the Greek/Trojan war and just decided to take all liberties in writing for a TV show.  Again, this mix of history while having huge flaws and taking liberties are the exact reasons why I hate historicals…

broken record

… Sorry, I am definitely a broken record.  I’ll get back on track and review the story itself, and not the broad style that Doctor Who uses for roughly a third of it’s stories.

This story is INCREDIBLY hard to follow.  there are tons of characters, all sharing a similar voice, and on top of it all, it assumes a certain level of comfortability with Greek history.  I did more research and found out that the characters used in this story don’t even fit with Greek/Trojan history, so even the history buff will be like, “WHAT THE?!?!”

Instead of trying to review a story that doesn’t make sense to me, and does little in terms of plot or reason, how about I share my ties to Greece?

First off, I am not Greek, I am a Euro-mutt, a mixed bag of German, Luxembourger, British, Hungarian, Slovakian, and probably a few other random countries sharing boarders with those I listed.  My last name (and Jael’s new last name), Voda, is Russian, though it comes from my Hungarian/Slovakian heritage, and it means “water”.  My first and middle name is Anthony and Daniel.  Then, when I was in 10th grade, I went through Catholic confirmation and we got to choose a confirmation name, which I treated like a second middle name.  This was HUGE.

I wanted a truly unique name, something no one else had.  I thought about Bosco (as he is a saint, and we had to try to stick with saints), my great-grandma even liked the name Bosco.  I can remember her saying it over and over and laughing.  But then something clicked.  My initials were ADV, my last name is VODA.  I was an “O” away from having my intials be my last name backwards!!  Who else can say that?!

So here it is, my Greek-ness; I chose a truly unique name AND an “O”-name… Olympius!

  • Anthony
  • Daniel
  • Olympius
  • VODA

So when Olympus was mentioned in this story (and the story proved to be rather dull), I faded off thinking of how cool it was to add my own personal flare to my name.  I am glad that I was named what I was, but having that unofficial “second middle name” that I got to choose, that was the cherry on top.

Notes:

“It’s character that counts, not good looks.” -Some dude to Vicki.  This is a typical “foot in mouth” comment made by a man to a woman. He meant well, but the execution was lacking and not thought out.
“But horses don’t grow that high!” -Captain obvious addressing horses 40 feet tall – the Trojan horse.
  • Story Grade: F
  • This story is only meant for the completionists, the elitists, or the masochists.  I am probably judging this story on the media form, which I hate doing, but I just couldn’t follow along.  It’s probably my own fault, but with that said, I am the one judging and grading.

 

Thank you to the BBC for not letting this be the last story of Doctor Who.  OK, it isn’t THAT bad, but everything needs it’s low point(s).

Leave a Reply

